Home   Sport   Article

Mendham darts ace Wright clinches title

Snakebite Peter Wright in action against Gerwyn Price. Photo: Lawrence Lustig ANL-141222-160911001
Snakebite Peter Wright in action against Gerwyn Price. Photo: Lawrence Lustig ANL-141222-160911001

Peter Wright won his third Players Championship of 2015 with an incredible display to edge out Benito van de Pas 6-5 in Saturday’s final in Coventry and claim the £10,000 title.

The Mendham-based ace, who is ranked world number four, averaged re than 107 in the decider and landed an impressive seven maximums as he traded blows with the Dutch youngster.

Neither player was able to force a break of throw in a tight final, with van de Pas as the youngster defied a 100 finish from Wright in the opening leg with legs of 11 and 13 darts as he shared the opening six.

Wright fired in two maximums in a 12-darter to lead 4-3, with van de Pas taking out 88 to level before a 14-darter from the Scot was followed by another 11-dart finish from the emerging Dutchman as he took the game into a decider.

Both players landed 180s in the final leg, but van de Pas missed the bull for a 127 checkout to snatch victory, and Wright finished double six for a 14-darter to take the title.

Wright’s route to the final included an impressive opening four games as he defeated Paul Milford, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Darren Johnson and Justin Pipe for the loss of only five legs.

He then saw off two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis 6-3 in the quarter-finals and overcame in-form Mensur Suljovic by the same scoreline in the last four.

Van de Pas had been bidding to win his first senior PDC title and was appearing in his second final of the year after reaching a European Tour decider in June.

The 22-year-old conceded no more than three legs in any of his six wins en route to the final, as he whitewashed Luke Woodhouse before defeating Magnus Caris, Mick Todd, Mark Barilli, Jamie Lewis and Stephen Bunting.

Sunday sees the final Players Championship take place in Coventry, as PDC Tour Card Holders and PDPA Associate Members compete for a further £60,000 in prize money.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More