Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Champions elect end Diss' winning run

More news, no ads


Diss’ (54) remarkable winning run came to an end in eventful fashion against title-chasing Fakenham (57-1), going down to a nine-wicket defeat on Saturday.


After winning the toss, skipper Mark Williamson had no hesitation in batting first, although he fell early to William Buckingham for 2.

Fellow opener Mark Brawn was also dismissed cheaply, trapped LBW to Luke Caswell(4-32) for 2, while Lewis Taylor (8) was the next to go after being caught playing a late cut.

Meanwhile, the in-form Robert Tooke (1) received a fantastic delivery from Buckingham (4-13), as Diss found themselves reeling on only 28-4.

David Tooke (11) and Daniel Taylor (13) were the only batsman to make double figure scores, as Diss were dismissed for just 54 in 23.4 overs.

Caswell and Buckingham claimed four wickets apiece, while David Coyle picked up 2.

In reply, Fakenham did not look to chase the minor total in quick style, and instead batted sensibly.

Diss’ Sam Hunt (1-4) picked up the only wicket, caught by Robert Tooke, and the away side sealed a nine-wicket win in the 17th over.

Williamson’s men will look to bounce back and sign off the season on a winning note when they travel to Old Buckenham tomorrow (12pm).

l In Division 4S, Diss B (114) lost to Ketteringham Hall A (115-5) by five wickets.

Batting first, Andrew Gregory top scored for Diss with his knock of 57, which included seven fours.

In reply, Harry Skilleter (3-23) bowled well, but it was not enough to secure his side the victory as Ketteringham chased down their target in 33.3 overs.

The result means Diss will end the campaign rooted to the bottom of the league standings, having amassed just 56 points from their 14 outings.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More