Home   News   Article

Parish councils in south Norfolk confirm local election candidates

Diss, Norfolk. Views of Diss - Diss Town Council Office ENGANL00120120320103028
Diss, Norfolk. Views of Diss - Diss Town Council Office ENGANL00120120320103028

Democracy at the most grassroots level will be observed across south Norfolk on May 7, following the announcement of candidates for the imminent parish council elections.

Six parishes across the Diss Express area have confirmed enough nominations to hold contested council elections when polling opens next Thursday, while the remainder are set to be formed uncontested due to the minimum number of required nominees not being met.

In Diss, 14 candidates have come forward to fill the 13 seats on the town council. Most of the serving councillors will be looking to retain their positions, with town mayor Keith Kiddie and councillors Joe Aiken, Mike Bardwell, Neil Howard, Adrian Kitchen, Julian Mason, Graham Minshull, Simon Olander and Harold Rackham all ready to stand again.

Also vying for the vacancies are Liberal Democrats Party members David Traube, Trevor Wenman and Fiona Wenman, who are all also standing in the South Norfolk Council elections for the Diss Ward, as well as independent candidates Mary Gibson and Chris Liggett.

Elsewhere in the South Norfolk district, Starston Parish Council confirmed it would hold an election for the first time since 2007, only months after current chairman Edward Libbey expressed serious concerns the council could fold completely.

A total of eight candidates were nominated for the parish’s seven vacancies, despite three of the four current councillors announcing they would step down this month after the new council has been elected.

To view the full list of nominees for each parish in the South Norfolk district, visit www.south-norfolk.gov.uk/democracy/7242.asp

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More