Home   News   Article

Mid Suffolk District Council reveals portfolio holders

Latest News from the Diss Express, dissexpress.co.uk, @diss_express on Twitter
Latest News from the Diss Express, dissexpress.co.uk, @diss_express on Twitter

The portfolio holders at Mid Suffolk District Council for the next four years have been revealed following a meeting last week.

David Burn, Conservative district councillor for Palgrave, will be Portfolio Holder for Environment and Environmental Health, while Diana Kearsley, also of the Conservatives and representing Gislingham, will take on the role of Portfolio Holder for Communities.

Stowmarket South district councillors Nick Gowrley (Conservative) and Gerard Brewster (Independent) have been designated as portfolio holders for Housing, and Economy and Stowmarket Regeneration respectively. Mr Gowrley will also take on the role of deputy leader of the council.

Conservative district councillor for Claydon and Barham, John Whitehead will be the portfolio holder for planning, while Derek Haley (Conservative) will continue as leader of the council.

The district elections on May 7 resulted in the Conservatives and Independents winning 31 seats compared to the Green group’s five and the Liberal Democrat total of four.

No fewer than 16 new councillors were elected – about 40 per cent of the total.

n For all the latest news, visit the Diss Express website at www.dissexpress.co.uk, and find us on Facebook and Twitter.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More