Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

LOCAL ELECTION RESULTS: Mid Suffolk District Council

More news, no ads


Mid Suffolk and Babergh District Councils
Mid Suffolk and Babergh District Councils

Mid Suffolk District Council experienced one of the most dramatic election counts in recent history.

Nick Gowrley, Conservative leader of the Mid Suffolk Council and cabinet member for assets and investments also lost his Combs Ford seat to Liberal Democrat Keith Scarff.

It was a good day for the Greens who now hold 12 seats.

The results were:

Conservative: 16

Green Party: 12

Liberal Democrats: 5

Independent: 1

In the Diss Express area:

Eye: Peter Gould (C) 419, Timothy Glenton (LD) 370. Turnout 25.28%.

Fressingfield: Lavinia Hadingham (C)* 518, Peter Davies (G) 206, Garry Deeks (No party given), Paul Seeman (LD) 80. Turnout 40.24%.

Gislingham: Rowland Warboys (G) 506, Christopher Pitt (C) 421, Joanna Clifford (Lab) 110. Turnout 41.57%.

Hoxne & Worlingworth: Matthew Hicks (C)* 533, David Penny (G) 182, Stephen Card (LD) 108, Anthony Scott-Robinson (Lab) 82. Turnout 40.74%.

Mendlesham: Andrew Stringer (G)* 838, Elaine Bryce (C) 326. Turnout 49.49%.

Palgrave: David Burn (C)* 465, Gillian Heriz-Smith (G) 335. Turnout 36.93%.

Rickinghall: Jessica Fleming (C)* 502, Susan Coe (Lab) 302. Turnout 35.33%.

Stradbroke & Laxfield: Julie Flatman (C)* 616, Catherine Leith (LD) 287. Turnout 38.76%.

Key: * Denotes previous sitting candidate C – Conservative, Lab – Labour, LD – Liberal Democrats, Ind – Independent, UKIP – UK Independence Party, G – Green Party.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More