Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now


More news, no ads


Diss Town Council offices
Diss Town Council offices

Diss town council is down to seven councillors.

Sonia Browne, Neil Howard, Adrian Kitchen, Julian Mason, Simon Olander, John Robertson and Eric Taylor were elected unopposed this week.

Five other councillors on the existing council will step down on May 7 after deciding not to stand.

The council is now looking to co-opt new members.

Following the recent boundary review, an additional seven councillors are needed to fill fourteen councillor positions.

On May 15, at Diss Town Council’s first full council meeting, outgoing councillor Trevor Wenman will preside as Town Mayor for the first item, when a new Town Mayor and council leader will be elected.

Co-option means members of the council agree to appoint as councillors.

A council spokeswoman said: "We are encouraging those who are passionate about their community to fill the remaining seven seats on Diss Town Council."

"The role of a local councillor is to decide how existing local services are delivered and consider potential new projects.

"As representatives closest to their communities, local councillors are best placed to engage with residents and find out what the real local issues are and how to overcome them.

"The town council will be thanking departing councillors for their considerable contribution in an awards ceremony following its Annual Town Meeting, next Thursday, to which everyone is


The Annual town meeting starts at 6pm next Thursday, May 9, at the Diss Youth and Community Centre on Shelfanger Road.

To find out more about being a councillor, please visit diss.gov.uk/your-council or email towncouncil@diss.gov.uk or on 01379 643848.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More